DOWNLOAD MODS

Are you looking for something shiny for your load order? We have many exclusive mods and resources you won't find anywhere else. Start your search now...

LEARN MODDING

Ready to try your hand at making your own mod creations? Visit the Enclave, the original ES/FO modding school, and learn the tricks of the trade from veteran modders...

JOIN THE ALLIANCE

Membership is free and registering unlocks image galleries, project hosting, live chat, unlimited downloads, & more...

Need A Smooth Serpentine Rig

jamochawoke

Hey guys I have modified one of the races to create a particular monster that has a long serpentine neck. I am using Blender for this particular project because I still haven't gotten around to learning 3DS Max yet (I own it even, my time is just reallllly tight). However, if there is an easy solution in 3DS Max by all means let me know!

However, while I'm not new to animating I am kind of new to the process of rigging (I can animate already rigged models just fine).

I set up several more neck bones by stretching out Bip01 Neck1 and then subdivided that bone into 8 bones for a neck that can move kind of snakelike.

I then, as a test, extruded the top of Robert's male body neck over those bones and then assigned the areas that were next to the bones as a vertex group.

My problem is now when I go into pose mode to see how the rigging went I've run into several problems. The biggest right now is the neck kind of squashes up into itself as it is bent one way or another. If I make an S-curve the problem is really awful as you can see here:

blenderriggingproblems.jpg

Edited by jamochawoke

My guess would be that your neck mesh is weighted incorrectly; the vertices are parented to bones at a strength you don't want.