DOWNLOAD MODS

Are you looking for something shiny for your load order? We have many exclusive mods and resources you won't find anywhere else. Start your search now...

LEARN MODDING

Ready to try your hand at making your own mod creations? Visit the Enclave, the original ES/FO modding school, and learn the tricks of the trade from veteran modders...

JOIN THE ALLIANCE

Membership is free and registering unlocks image galleries, project hosting, live chat, unlimited downloads, & more...

[SKY] A begginer's broad question about modding

grandescoisa

Hello, everyone at TES Alliance!

I'm completely new to modding, and I wanted to ask for some guidance. Yes, I know there's a lot of good tutorials for beginners here, but I believe my questions are even more broad.

Let me get to the point: there are tutorials on the creation kit, for example, but do every mod need the use of the creation kit? I understand the kit is a piece of software created by the developers themselves, but do modders always need this help from the developers? I believe not, I'm assuming people with programming skills probably learned how to modify the game. So I think what I'm asking is how to learn the data structures, where and how the data are stored, how to access it. I hope I not being too ambitious asking those things. I'm not a programmer or anything, but I know some C, and with good guidance I believe I can learn. And please don't get me wrong, I'm not criticizing the creation kit, I just want to know exactly what can I learn to do, so I can choose when to use the CK and when not.

(I'm really sorry if someone already asked something like this, I searched but haven't found anything)

• Upvote 1

1 hour ago, grandescoisa said:

Hello, everyone at TES Alliance!

I'm completely new to modding, and I wanted to ask for some guidance. Yes, I know there's a lot of good tutorials for beginners here, but I believe my questions are even more broad.