DOWNLOAD MODS

Are you looking for something shiny for your load order? We have many exclusive mods and resources you won't find anywhere else. Start your search now...

LEARN MODDING

Ready to try your hand at making your own mod creations? Visit the Enclave, the original ES/FO modding school, and learn the tricks of the trade from veteran modders...

JOIN THE ALLIANCE

Membership is free and registering unlocks image galleries, project hosting, live chat, unlimited downloads, & more...

script do not compile

lotang

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie in modding and I'm trying to figure out why this simple script won't compile:

AkSpeaker.EquipItem(ClothesFarmClothes04)

papyrus says:

Starting 1 compile threads for 1 files...

Compiling "TIF__01088B9B"...

c:\jeux\steam\steamapps\common\skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\temp\TIF__01088B9B.psc(9,20): variable ClothesFarmClothes04 is undefined

No output generated for TIF__01088B9B, compilation failed.

Batch compile of 1 files finished. 0 succeeded, 1 failed.

Failed on TIF__01088B9B

After several days trying to fix this reading the docs again and again, I cant' see what I'm doing wrong, I get lost...

Edited by lotang

You have set up the ClothesFarmClothes04 object reference incorrectly, and as such, the compiler thinks it's a variable which you have not defined any parameters for, and as such, it complains.

You need to set up the ClothesFarmClothes04 as a Property if you haven't done so. Papyrus is blind to all game objects on its own, you must define them for the script in the Creation Kit. That is what Properties are for, it tells the compiler you are referencing an in-game object.

The syntax for referencing an in-game object is: <item type> property <property name> auto. In this case, your item is a piece of clothing, which is of the type Armor, so yours would read "Armor property ClothesFarmClothes04 auto."