DOWNLOAD MODS

Are you looking for something shiny for your load order? We have many exclusive mods and resources you won't find anywhere else. Start your search now...

LEARN MODDING

Ready to try your hand at making your own mod creations? Visit the Enclave, the original ES/FO modding school, and learn the tricks of the trade from veteran modders...

JOIN THE ALLIANCE

Membership is free and registering unlocks image galleries, project hosting, live chat, unlimited downloads, & more...

[sky] Unpacking BSAs (complete newbie question)

Gringo1323

So, I'm completely new to modeling (as in never done it before new) and was going to ask for some help on how to get models from .bsa format into blender. Do I need to unpack the .bsa files, if so how do I do that? Once I get the model can I immediaely see the model in blender? Can you go step by step how to get the files from .bsa into blender? Also, what version of blender can I use to get new meshes into skyrim?

Edited by Gringo1323

If you are completely new to modding, then I STRONGLY suggest you hold off on modeling. For Skyrim specifically, it is a very tedious task and also requires a bit of fiddeling in NifSkope.

I would instead suggest you start with modding basics, using only vanilla assets. Once you are comfortable with that, then you can start with more complex things.

If you are completely new to modding, then I STRONGLY suggest you hold off on modeling. For Skyrim specifically, it is a very tedious task and also requires a bit of fiddeling in NifSkope.

I would instead suggest you start with modding basics, using only vanilla assets. Once you are comfortable with that, then you can start with more complex things.

I'm not completely new to modding (I have made my own house and a few other items similar to what you did in the skyrim basics tutorial although I am still new at it (i have not done anything like scripting). I am completely new to modeling and texturing.