DOWNLOAD MODS

Are you looking for something shiny for your load order? We have many exclusive mods and resources you won't find anywhere else. Start your search now...

LEARN MODDING

Ready to try your hand at making your own mod creations? Visit the Enclave, the original ES/FO modding school, and learn the tricks of the trade from veteran modders...

JOIN THE ALLIANCE

Membership is free and registering unlocks image galleries, project hosting, live chat, unlimited downloads, & more...

[SKY] How to export modified Skyrim nifs back from Blender?

Tamira

There is this fine tutorial "Importing Assets into Blender" by Insanity Sorrow but sadly it stops when you have imported nifs from Skyrim to Blender and does not tell you how to export them back to Skyrim as a working nif.

I must say first that I am a Blender Noob, I only know how to hit the import and export button and how to delete some vertices, that's all.

So this is what I tried. As an example I took the candlehorntable01.nif, imported it to blender and now tried to remove the stand to separate the horn which I actually managed to do.

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/BZDmdfgD4lO7v79fFCIeLtMTjNZETYmyPJy0liipFm0?feat=directlink

Then I exported this object as a Fallout 3 Nif with the default settings:

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/vzHk5fLmouPlOhy8LgyvudMTjNZETYmyPJy0liipFm0?feat=directlink

I restored the Skyrim settings in the Nif and copied the NiTriShape to an existing Skyrim Nif, then added a BSLightingShaderProperty, but the mesh is not textured, obviously there is the UV map missing:

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/043_4uRyDlcK2emHzL_u-NMTjNZETYmyPJy0liipFm0?feat=directlink

o. k. this did not work. So I went back to Blender and exported the modified mesh as a 3ds file and imported that file in NifSkope into an existing Skyrim Nif, then added a BSLightingShaderProperty and voila: The mesh is textured, no UV is missing: