DOWNLOAD MODS

Are you looking for something shiny for your load order? We have many exclusive mods and resources you won't find anywhere else. Start your search now...

LEARN MODDING

Ready to try your hand at making your own mod creations? Visit the Enclave, the original ES/FO modding school, and learn the tricks of the trade from veteran modders...

JOIN THE ALLIANCE

Membership is free and registering unlocks image galleries, project hosting, live chat, unlimited downloads, & more...

Completely stuck on an event script

zeromaveric

needless to say, i'm a complete noob at scripting. i've managed a couple from copying/modifying others' work to get some working, but now i'm completely stuck since i can't find any evidence of this working.

basically, i managed a weapon enchantment akin to Notched Pickaxe in which the weapon can cast a magic effect on the weilder. somehow i got it to activate when the weapon is drawn, rather than simply equipped, which is what i wanted. now here's where i'm stuck

i want the magic effect to dispel when i sheathe the weapon, rather than having to open menu and dequip it for it to wear off. i've searched and found someone mentioning a combination of OnEquipped, OnUnequipped, and using IsWeaponDrawn as a method to check and activate, but i can't for the life of me find out how to get this to go through, as there are no written examples of these going together

There are a couple ways to go about this:

1. Without SKSE: Use a RegisterForUpate call to set up a polling loop. In the OnUpdate event check IsWeaponDrawn. If false, stop the magic effect.
  2. With SKSE: RegisterForActorAction(10) to catch the Sheath End event. In the OnActorAction event stop the magic effect.

if you use SKSE, it is more efficient as there is no polling and you don't have the do the IsWeaponDrawn test. Ideally your code would be something like:

Event OnEquipped(Actor akActor)
    Apply your magic effect
    RegisterForActorAction(7)   ;draw start